Obstacles!

All photos taken on January 24, 2023.

25 responses to “Obstacles!”

  1. LOL. Wonderful dump of an ending, Allan. I had guessed the bison blocking the trail but not the opinion of a music critic. This really cracked me up. Happy Saturday and thanks for the laugh. I’m impressed with how beautiful the scenery is and how intrepid you and Patty are in you chilly winter hikes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The fact he was still there should not have come as a surprise. Bison will browse an area very slowly in winter and strangely enough, often use the trails to get around (I know this from their “leavings”) I got my song on video for this one. This walk and the other nearby one are our favourites in any season. To us, this was not a cold day. Amazing how much heat you can generate just by walking. Thanks for reading Pat. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the excellent photos, especially the lonely bison!

    Joanna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Joanna. I always wondered when we would meet one on the trail. That was the day, but at least he moved off, without us having to find a way around him. Thanks for reading and commenting. Have a wonderful day. Allan

      Like

      1. Thank so much again, Allan, and likewise!

        Joanna

        Like

  3. Wonderful walk in the snow and fabulous images!🌸🌸🌸

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a pretty January walk. Glad the snow is now gone and looking forward to spring. Happy Saturday Luisa. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Happy Saturday to you and yours, too 💐

        Like

  4. It’s good that you get out and about despite the snow. 🙂 I pretty much hibernate in the winter. LOL

    That bison was so cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Our winter is too long to stay trapped indoors. Between shoveling and walking, we get our exercise. That helps us avoid cabin fever. It was nice and a bit scary to see this guy so close. Thanks for reading Kymber. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s great, Allan. 😀 Buffalo Gals and a dump. If I had out there singing the verdict would have been the same. It’s quite amazing how still and beautifully quiet some winter days can be. Until someone starts singing, that is. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think this bison looked at us walking in and thought…”Hey, I can have a bit of fun with this when they come back.” So glad there was only one. Also glad, that like horses, bison seem afraid to cross rickety surfaces. Otherwise, he may have come over to join in the chorus of this “grate” song. Two bison blockades, two singing solos by me, two exact same results. Guess, I’d better never go on Animal Idol. Enjoy your deck weather, Lynette. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hahaha! Quite the encounter! It looks like a perfect winter day, and just the right amount of snow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Any day we get to coexist with wildlife is a good day, even if he was a critic of my song. The snow was pretty good for hiking that day. Thanks for reading Vanessa. Have a great Sunday. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Your song worked again! Yeah you for remembering how to get out of this situation. I am not sure i want to see one of those guys as close up as you seem to have been. I love those winter days when it is bright and fresh with new snow but is not too cold. Bernie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My dulcet tones have the affect of chasing animals away and I am OK with that. We were far enough away not to alarm him…and then I opened my mouth. It was a beautiful walk in the snow Bernie. Thanks for reading. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Snow seems a distant memory on a warm/hot April afternoon

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Here too, but I hear its coming back Tuesday.

      Like

      1. I will believe it when it happens. And I would actually be ok with it as we need moisture.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. With an animal that big I would be afraid to hike near it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. While we love seeing the bison, we like seeing them from a distance. We never push our luck with large animals and I understand even cattle pose a significant risk to hikers in the UK. The key is never surprise them. Thanks for reading Sharon. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hiked through a farmer’s field with cows in England. Yes, cows can be an issue. I kept as far away as I could. Historic footpaths go through people’s property.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful shots of the snowy landscape. I got a good laugh about how the bison reacted to your singing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Linda. I guess the bison thought my singing was S—. Oh well, I am not about to argue with him. Thanks for reading. Allan

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started