Commercial Drive

All photos taken on December 9, 2023.

(Source: Wikipedia)

25 responses to “Commercial Drive”

  1. Interesting information and another beautiful series of spectacular photos. Those murals are amazing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This part of Vancouver is where the real people live and work. It has a strong blend of many cultures and feels like a totally different part of the world. Happy Thursday Luisa. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how there is so much to see and do there. The architecture is amazing, too! I really enjoyed seeing these sites.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kymber. Every time we have been here before, we have been in a hurry to grab food or coffee. It was n ice to have the time to wander and see what attracts so many to this vibrant area. Thanks for reading and commenting. Allan

      Like

  3. Commercial Drive looks like a culturally rich and authentic neighbourhood, and I can only imagine the sheer diversity of cuisine available there. I love the colourful street art, too. Thanks for sharing, and have a good day 🙂 Aiva xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You hit the nail right on the head Aiva. Newcomers and younger residents often want to live close to this area to enjoy the diversity of shopping and cuisine. Thanks for reading and commenting. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What an interesting (and clean) city. You showed us today some of it and now I want more. As for coffee beans, I have a collection myself 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They do tend to pay more cleaning attention to this part of Vancouver, as it is such a huge draw. I have a few more posts to come on parts of the city, before this series ends. Ahhh coffee. I always say, life is too short to drink bad coffee. Guess I am just a coffee snob. Have a great day. Allan

      Like

  5. The homes along Charles Street and Napier Street look beautiful. I like the sound of Little Italy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This was the first time I actually spent time wandering the side streets. The Italian sandwiches from La Grotta are too die for, made to order in front of you and so huge if you get the full focaccia loaf. Thanks for reading Linda. Allan

      Like

  6. I love these lovely murals! And I’ll note all these good addresses for the next time I’m in Vancouver!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So many visitors never leave the city center. Our son introduced us to this area and we have been back often on foot and bike. Thanks for reading Vanessa. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I really enjoy that area of Vancouver. So interesting and eclectic and the food choices are fantastic. I enjoyed scrolling through your photos. It felt like I was there. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would guess that it was a lot quieter early Saturday morning than it was late Friday night. It has a real neighbourhood feeling. Glad you enjoyed Lynette. Thanks for reading. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the houses on Charles St and Napier St. Even the low commercial buildings are typically North American, much more inviting than the tall, uninspiring buildings downtown.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Commercial Drive has a more human scale and invites exploration on foot. Couple this with the nearby community center and there are always people about. Thanks for reading and commenting. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Love all the houses and the murals. Gosh that one on the corner of the building with the guy at the table is so cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always thought the best old houses were in the West End, but the houses near Commercial Drive are so beautiful too. The murals really give life to the area and the mural on the Lunch Lady restaurant shows the way it used to be. Thanks for reading Bernie. Happy Saturday. Allan

      Like

  10. I suspect there are a few pockets of old houses left, but in 25 years, there won’t be any. Sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What a beautiful walk! I think I would love to live in Vancouver. And you are so wise to give Benji his space while in training!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are a lot of great neighbourhoods to explore. This was the first time, I managed a wander around there. As to Benji, no matter how far away I was, he always spotted me. Thanks for reading Ann. Have a great Sunday. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Love the murals! I don’t think I have seen Christmas trees on a roof before. Nice pictures!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started